Skip navigation

Tag Archives: University Philosophy

European Philosophy

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT MIDDLESEX PHILOSOPHY CLOSURE

From p.hallward@mdx.ac.uk

Dear all

Further to my last message, about the closure of Philosophy at Middlesex: all of us who teach philosophy at Middlesex have been overwhelmed by the tremendous outpouring of support from students and staff at other universities that we’ve received in the last 24 hours. Middlesex students are mobilising quickly, and we will meeting tomorrow and in the coming days to discuss how best to organise a forceful campaign to save Philosophy at Middlesex, and more importantly, to protect other vulnerable departments in similar situations both at Middlesex and in universities across the UK. 

I promise to keep future messages about this to a minimum, but here are a few more bits of information:

There’s now a petition to save Philosophy at Middlesex, at: http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/save-middlesex-philosophy.html

Middlesex Philosophy students have set up a Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=119102561449990 (3600+ members in the first day).

Nina Power, who graduated with a PhD in Philosophy from Middlesex a couple of years ago, has a Guardian comment piece on the closure, at: www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/apr/29/philosophy-minorities-middleqsex-university-logic

We will be posting new information about the campaign on our temporary blog, at  http://mdxphilcampaign.blogspot.com/, and hope to replace this soon with a campaign website. 

If you haven’t yet written to the people behind this decision, they are: 

Vice-Chancellor of the University, Michael Driscoll, m.driscoll@mdx.ac.uk;

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise, Waqar Ahmad, w.ahmad@mdx.ac.uk;

Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic, Margaret House, m.house@mdx.ac.uk

Dean of the School of Arts & Education, Ed Esche, e.esche@mdx.ac.uk

The full set of emails is then: m.driscoll@mdx.ac.ukw.ahmad@mdx.ac.uk;m.house@mdx.ac.uke.esche@mdx.ac.uk

This fight is only just beginning,

Yours in solidarity,
Peter

Posted here by Glenn Rikowski

The Flow of Ideas: http://www.flowideas.co.uk