Skip navigation

Paul Kingsnorth

Environment

‘IT’S THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT (AN I FEEL FINE)’: WHY ENVIRONMENTALISM HAS FAILED AND WHAT COMES NEXT

Paul Kingsnorth

22nd February 2010, 5.30pm, Beehive, Room 2.21, at Newcastle University

Paul Kingsnorth has worked in an orang utan rehabilitation centre in Borneo, as a peace observer in the rebel Zapatista villages of Mexico, as a floor-sweeper in McDonalds and as an assistant lock-keeper on the river Thames. He studied history at Oxford University between 1991 and 1994, was arrested during the Twyford Down road protests of 1993 and was named one of Britain’s ‘top ten troublemakers’ by the New Statesman magazine in 2001.

Paul has worked on the comment desk of The Independent, as commissioning editor for opendemocracy.net; http://www.opendemocracy.net/ and as deputy editor of The Ecologist http://www.theecologist.org/. He is also an award-winning poet http://www.paulkingsnorth.net/poetry.html, and an honorary member of the Lani tribe of New Guinea. He has written for most UK newspapers and many other publications at home and abroad, and appeared on radio and TV.

Paul’s first book, One No, Many Yeses, http://www.paulkingsnorth.net/onmy.html (Simon and Schuster, 2003), an investigative journey through the ‘anti-globalisation’ movement, was published in six languages in thirteen countries. His second book, Real England, http://www.paulkingsnorth.net/realengland.html, was published by Portobello Books http://www.portobellobooks.com/ in 2008. His debut poetry collection, Kidland, is forthcoming from Salmon Poetry: http://www.salmonpoetry.com/. In 2009 he co-founded of the Dark Mountain Project: http://www.dark-mountain.net/.

Paul Kingsnorth: http://www.paulkingsnorth.net

Paul will be giving a version of his contribution to the book What is Radical Politics Today? Edited by Jonathan Pugh of Newcastle University, and published in November 2009 by Palgrave-Macmillan.

Those interested in attending should email Jonathan Pugh:  Jonathan.Pugh@ncl.ac.uk

This event is linked to the Spaces of Democracy and the Democracy of Space network: http://www.spaceofdemocracy.org

For Radical Politics Today Magazine
http://www.spaceofdemocracy.org/resources/publications/magazine/magazine.html

For more on the book What is radical politics today? published in 2009 by Palgrave MacMillan
http://www.spaceofdemocracy.org/resources/resources_bookstoread.html
Jonathan Pugh
Senior Academic Fellow
Director “The Spaces of Democracy and the Democracy of Space” network
School of Geography, Politics and Sociology
5th Floor Claremont Tower
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE17RU
United Kingdom
Honorary Fellow, The Centre for the Study of Democracy, University of Westminster

Posted here by Glenn Rikowski

The Flow of Ideas: http://www.flowideas.co.uk

MySpace Profile: http://www.myspace.com/glennrikowski

Wavering on Ether: http://blog.myspace.com/glennrikowski

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: